top of page

A Few Habits for the New Year

Here are a few good habits to teach your players as the season continues into the New Year:

Offense:

1) Look to pass before you dribble

2) Only shoot it from inside the lane

3) Stay 10 - 12 feet away from your teammates (foul line is 12 ft wide)

4) Pivot your feet and swing your arms when you catch the ball

Besides reminding them to tie their shoes, if you just repeated these 4 habits to your players I think it would make a huge difference. Notice how simple it makes the game for them. The best compliment I think I ever received from a player I coached was "Coach, I always know what you expect of me out there. I don't have to think much. I can just like...react."

Eliminate their thinking. Repeat these habits as much as your can throughout the season and it will make them much more aware of them. I call them Easily Measured Expectations (EME's). Did you dribble right away? Did you shoot from the three point line? Are you close enough to touch your teammate? Are you standing like your feet are in cement?

Yes? Repeat the habit again :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page